top of page
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Youtube

SMJFL Welcomes New Chairman

At its 2020 Annual General Meeting held online on Wednesday 2 December, the South Metro Junior Football League (SMJFL) has appointed Richard Bowen its new Chairman for 2021 to 2023.

Richard joined the SMJFL Board in 2018 and has a long history of involvement in community, sporting and not-for-profit organisations.

In 2020, Richard was Chair of the Board’s Football, Talent & Pathways subcommittee and a member of the Governance, Risk & Stakeholders subcommittee.

Richard said he looks forward to the opportunity the position of Chairman presents.

“I am deeply honoured to serve as the league’s Chairman. I would like to thank all of the league’s 25 member clubs for their ongoing support,” he said.

“All our member clubs have done a fantastic job dealing with the challenges 2020 has presented. I look forward to working with and supporting the clubs throughout season 2021 and beyond.”

The league wishes to congratulate Richard and wish him the best as he provides his vision, leadership and direction for the league moving in to season 2021.

The league would like to acknowledge and thank outgoing Chairman Lewis Bearman for his dedication to the league as Chairman over the past three years. Lewis will continue to be a Director on the league’s Board for one more year in season 2021.

The league welcomes back Don Robertson for a three-year term in his general position. Don has stood on the SMJFL Board since being elected in December 2017, and brings many years of SMJFL and corporate experience.

The SMJFL’s latest Life Member, Bruce Eckersall

The league also inducted Bruce Eckersall as its latest Life Member. Bruce has made a significant contribution over the years to the SMJFL and MSJFL. Bruce also served on the SMJFL Board in 2012 and 2013 as a Director and afterwards as the Finance Manager for the league. Bruce has now officially resigned from his role. On behalf of the SMJFL Board and league, we would like to thank Bruce for his many years of service and dedication.

The SMJFL Board now stands as follows:

Chair – Richard Bowen

Vice Chair – Tracey Davies

Board Directors – Matt Webb, Jamie Gray, Lewis Bearman, Louise Nelson, Don Robertson


bottom of page